top of page


All 7 Candidates for Sheriff

Eric Strong, Sheriff Lieutenant

Cecil Rhambo, LAX Police Chief

Karla Carranza, LA Sheriff Sergeant

Britta Steinbrenner, Retired LA Sheriff’s Department Captain

Eli Vera, Law Enforcement Chief

Matt Rodriguez, Retired Sheriff's Captain

April Saucedo Hood, Parole Agent


Los Angeles County Democratic Party

The Los Angeles Times

The Southern California News Group

Beverly Press and Park La Brea News

The Long Beach Area Chamber of Commerce

The Los Angeles County Business Federation (BizFed)


Alhambra Democratic Club

Avance Democratic Club

Democratic Club of Claremont

​Democratic Party of the San Fernando Valley

Democrats for Israel Los Angeles

Democrats for Neighborhood Action

East Area Progressive Democrats

Foothill Community Democrats

Hubert Humphrey Democratic Club

Los Angeles County Young Democrats

Montebello-Pico Rivera Democrats

Progressive Democrats Club

San Fernando Valley Young Democrats

Santa Clarita Valley Democrats

Santa Monica Democratic Club

Stonewall Democratic Club

West LA Democratic Club

Westside Young Democrats

YES WE CAN Democratic Club

Mexican American Bar Association (MABA)

Moms Demand Action

LA Watchdog


Los Angeles County Federation of Labor


SEIU 121

SEIU Local 721

SEIU 2015

UFCW 324

Elected Officials

Nanette Barragan, US Representative 

Tony Cárdenas, US Representative 

Judy Chu, US Representative

Ted Lieu, US Representative

Alan Lowenthal, US Representative 

Linda Sanchez, US Representative 

Brad Sherman, US Representative 
Ricardo Lara, State Insurance Commissioner
Anthony Rendon, Speaker of the CA State Assembly
María Elena Durazo, State Senator

Lena Gonzalez, State Senator

Anthony Portantino, State Senator
Lisa Calderon, State Assemblymember

Mike Gipson, State Assemblymember 

Laura Friedman, State Assemblymember 

Chris Holden, State Assemblymember

Reggie Jones-Sawyer, State Assemblymember 

Adrin Nazarian, State Assemblymember 

Patrick O’Donnell, State Assemblymember

Luz Rivas, State Assemblymember 

Kathryn Barger, Los Angeles County Supervisor

Janice Hahn, Los Angeles County Supervisor

Sheila Kuehl, Los Angeles County Supervisor

Holly Mitchell, Los Angeles County Supervisor

Hilda Solis, Los Angeles County Supervisor
John Lee, Los Angeles City Councilmember

Paul Krekorian, Los Angeles City Councilmember

Monica Rodriguez, Los Angeles City Councilmember
Robert Garcia, Long Beach Mayor

Mary Zendejas, Long Beach Councilmember
Roberto Uranga, Long Beach Councilmember

Cindy Allen, Long Beach Councilmember
Al Austin, Long Beach Councilmember 

Suzie Price, Long Beach Councilmember 

Rex Richardson, Long Beach Councilmember
Daryl Supernaw, Long Beach Councilmember
Stacy Mungo, Long Beach Councilmember
Suely Saro, Long Beach Councilmember 

Sasha Renée Pérez, Alhambra Councilmember

Paul Hernandez, Baldwin Park Councilmember
Alicia Romero, Bell Mayor
Julian Gold, Beverly Hills Vice Mayor
Peter Kraut, Calabasas Councilmember 

Frank Yokoyama, Cerritos Councilmember
Jed Leano, Claremont Mayor
Mario Trujillo, Downey Councilmember 

Juan Carrillo, Palmdale Councilmember

Margaret Finlay, Duarte Mayor

Karen Davis, Glendora Mayor
James Butts, Inglewood Mayor
Henry Lo, Monterey Park Mayor
Peter Chan, Monterey Park Councilmember
Eric Alegria, Rancho Palos Verdes Councilmember

Barbara Ferraro, Rancho Palos Verdes Mayor Pro Tem
Keir Jones, Signal Hill Mayor

Lauren Meister, West Hollywood Mayor 

John D’Amico, West Hollywood Councilmember
Richard Phillips, Palos Verdes Peninsula Unified School District Board of Education Member


Community Leaders

Hon. Don Knabe, Former Los Angeles County Supervisor
Hon. Bill Lockyer, Retired State Attorney General

Hon. Greig Smith, Former Los Angeles City Councilmember
Hon. Bob Foster, Former Long Beach Mayor
Hon. Rick Rodriguez, Former Downey Mayor and Board Member of The Whole Child 

Hon. Victor Manalo, Former Artesia Mayor and President of Board of Directors, CA Chapter National Association of Social Workers
Hon. Tonia Uranga, Former Long Beach Councilmember
Hon. Chris J Steinhauser, Former LBUSD Superintendent of Schools
Hon. John McGinnis, Former Long Beach Unified School District Member
Hon. Charles Calderon, Former CA State Representative
Carmen Perez, Former Long Beach Harbor Commissioner and DNC Vice Chair
Mario Cordero, Executive Director of the Port of Long Beach
Ron Arias, Former Long Beach Health Director
James Hankla, Former Los Angeles County Chief Administrative Officer (CAO) and Long Beach City Manager
Mark E. Pulido, Former Mayor of Cerritos

Sergio Carrillo, Vice Chair of LA County Democratic Party
Hans Johnson, President of East Side Progressive Democrats
Chris Duvali, President, YES WE CAN Democratic Club; Treasurer, Hubert H. Humphrey Democratic Club; Extended Board, Member Long Beach Pride
Chris Robson, City of Long Beach Commissioner and Past Chair, Board of Health and Human Services; Secretary, Rose Park Neighborhood Association
Gail Willis, Chair of Citizens for Accountable Leadership

Ruth Sanchez, ACLU Antelope Valley Chapter* President
Wayne Chaney Jr, Senior Pastor, Antioch Church of Long Beach
Rev. Gregory Sanders, Lead Pastor of The ROCK Christian Fellowship & President of the Long beach Ministers Alliance

Rev. Norman S. Johnson Sr., Senior Pastor at First New Christian Fellowship
Jessica Quintana, President & CEO of Centro CHA Inc. (Long Beach Community Hispanic Association)
Sharon Weissman, Democratic Women’s Study Club of Long Beach and Long Beach Harbor Commissioner

Robert Brown, President of University of West LA
Derek Simpson, Community Leader and Writer
Naomi Raine-Pierson, Civil Rights Leader
Angelita Medina, LA County Library Commissioner
Bonnie Lowenthal, Long Beach Harbor Commissioner
Michael Harvey Miller, Former City Attorney of Arcadia and Gardenia and President of the Los Angeles County City Attorney Association
Connie Rice, Co-Founder and Co-Director of the Advancement Project
Renay Grace Rodriguez, Community Activist
Mary Grace Barrios, Community Activist

*Titles and organizations used for identification purposes only

Endorsements: About Me
Robert Garcia.png

Long Beach Mayor
Robert Garcia

"I have 100% confidence that Chief Luna will lead with integrity, strength, and a commitment to community policing. He will ensure that we build a department for the 21st century."

Lena Gonzalez.png

State Senator Lena Gonzalez

“During my five years on the Long Beach City Council, I worked closely with Chief Luna. I’m especially proud of his work with the LGBTQ community here in Long Beach, as well as his deep work in our diverse communities: Black, Brown and Cambodian.”

Ricardo Lara.png

CA Insurance Commissioner Ricardo Lara

"I am thrilled that Chief Luna is running for LA County Sheriff and will solve the leadership crisis at the Sheriff's Department. Chief Luna has a reputation for listening and problem solving.

Hans Johnson.png

LGBT Activist Hans Johnson

"Robert Luna is the only serious candidate for sheriff. He brings stellar credentials in education and in modern police management and governance. He also boasts high marks from the LGBT community and others in Long Beach, a meaningful base of support for a countywide candidate.

Victor Manalo.png

​​Victor Manalo, President, Nat'l Assoc. of Social Workers, CA

"I am an ardent supporter of Chief Luna for LA County Sheriff. His work shows that he is willing to take a leadership role during a time that has been very challenging for law enforcement. Chief Luna understands his responsibility as a public servant and has the emotional intelligence and political savvy for the job.

bottom of page